Desktop
Tablet Landscape
Tablet Portrait
Phone Landscape
Phone Portrait
Recent

Is Buzz Monitoring Technology Enough?

Monitor that Buzz, via Wikipedia These days, as user-generated content continues to proliferate, marketers are increasingly trying to figure out how to monitor and measure it. That’s why services like Scout Labs, the new relatively low-cost social media monitoring dashboard, tend to get a lot of buzz of their own when they launch.

Minor Miracles And Major Feats of First-Page Rankings

Videos are more likely than text to get on the first page of Google’s search results, according to Forrester Research’s Nate Elliott. This is a huge story, but there’s an even bigger angle: getting on the first page of Google’s search results is really, really hard.I missed Nate’s initial blog post, but fortunately caught the […]

Four Methods of Measuring Digital Media Buzz

This month, I had the pleasure of speaking at Strategy Institute’s Digital Media Measurement & Pricing Summit. It sounds wordy and dry, but there were some great presentations spanning all forms of digital media, from TV to billboards. My talk was on user-generated content metrics, and thinking about the subject, I found that the ways […]

Is There A Personal CPM For Search?

Can a bounty for search engine users translate to a personal CPM? This question follows MediaPost’s OMMA Social event (catch the complete coverage) where a panel discussed the concept of the personal CPM, when brands put a value on consumers who spread marketing messages. In social media, the concept works perfectly, as consumers can become […]

This Google May Harm Your Computer

Image via CrunchBase Where were you the day Google turned against its users? If you were lucky, you were sleeping in. It happened Saturday, Jan. 31 at 6:30 a.m. in Mountain View, Calif., 9:30 a.m. in New York, 4:30 p.m. in Jerusalem, 8 p.m. in Delhi, and 10:30 p.m. in Beijing. Checking my own Google […]