Desktop
Tablet Landscape
Tablet Portrait
Phone Landscape
Phone Portrait

Category Archives for Search Marketing

Recent

The Ten Most Moving Search Engines

Dalai Lama by Jan Michael Ihl via Flickr Over the weekend, under the gaze of a painting of the Dalai Lama at Tibetan Kitchen, I savored my dessert of bhaktsa marku while thinking of all the search engines that helped get me to that place. And by “that place” I don’t mean the Tibetan restaurant, […]

Minor Miracles And Major Feats of First-Page Rankings

Videos are more likely than text to get on the first page of Google’s search results, according to Forrester Research’s Nate Elliott. This is a huge story, but there’s an even bigger angle: getting on the first page of Google’s search results is really, really hard.I missed Nate’s initial blog post, but fortunately caught the […]

Is There A Personal CPM For Search?

Can a bounty for search engine users translate to a personal CPM? This question follows MediaPost’s OMMA Social event (catch the complete coverage) where a panel discussed the concept of the personal CPM, when brands put a value on consumers who spread marketing messages. In social media, the concept works perfectly, as consumers can become […]

This Google May Harm Your Computer

Image via CrunchBase Where were you the day Google turned against its users? If you were lucky, you were sleeping in. It happened Saturday, Jan. 31 at 6:30 a.m. in Mountain View, Calif., 9:30 a.m. in New York, 4:30 p.m. in Jerusalem, 8 p.m. in Delhi, and 10:30 p.m. in Beijing. Checking my own Google […]

Cataloging a Search Catastrophe

Don’t let this catastrophe happen to you. This is based on a true story, though certain names have been omitted to protect the guilty brands.Scene One: My wife, Cara, and I went to see the movie “Milk.” Beforehand, we endured the barrage of commercials. Yet something incredible happened — one of the spots was not […]